Achieve Any Goal: 3 Steps to Accomplishing Absolutely Anything, part 2

Michaela Brielle
3 min readDec 26, 2021

New Years is around the corner. We have just a few days here. In between. After which we trade the busyness of the holidays for the sprint into the new year. We trade scrambling for gifts and parties for goals and plans. To make next year better than this last year.

You probably have goals for this coming here. Hopes and dreams. Here’s part 2 of my trilogy for achieving any goal. You can do this. (click here to read part 1 first!)

Create DAILY + ACTIONABLE Steps (Know Your Conversion Rate)

Now that you have defined what your action steps are, it’s time to determine their quantity. How did I know what my target was for talk time, dials, and pitches every day? This step is a bit more complex and will require looking back at past data and results.

If your goals are work-related and you work as an employee for a company, this will be easier. The more established a business, the more data they will have to interpret. The more independent you are, the more you will need to build from your own data.

For my cold call sales example, I was an employee. The company gave us the ratio of certain metrics to average number of sales made. For example, salespeople who had an average of 5–7 pitches a day regularly made budget. It is great when these statistics are done for you. If you’re an employee, find your company’s statistics and use them to determine the quantity of your daily action steps.

If you’re an independent contractor, freelancer, or this is a personal goal, this will look different. It is not always harder. First, compare what your goal is to people who have already reached your goal. What do they do every day? Perhaps find someone who will share their data. In addition to the comparative research you do, you will still need to collect your own data. Following the previous examples, here are some questions (not extensive!) you can ask yourself to build your own data and discover your own conversion rates.

· Getting hired as a freelance writer: How many independent blog posts do I need written to land me a job? How many job postings do I typically reach out to before I get hired for one? When has my social media or promotional content helped me land more jobs?

· Running a 5k: How many miles can I run now compared to how many I’m working up to? How do I feel when I drink one water bottle a day compared to two or three? Do I feel more stretched and relaxed after 10, 30, or 60 minutes of yoga and stretching and do I notice a difference in how I run the next day?

· Making money as an online influencer: How much are other influencers posting a day and how much engagement do I get per each post on my profile? How many followers do I need to engage with before I see a sale? How many sales do I get per $50 in paid ads?

It may seem intimidating, but you can do this. Keep it simple. Have fun doing your action steps each day and keep track of how you feel, the responses you get, the sales you make. Always, always, always, be asking questions! Creating a process involves asking what works and what doesn’t. When you can answer that question for yourself, you’ve created your own process to success.

This is not to say a process will never change. A process may change the more personal the goal and as you add more sub-goals and new directions you want to go. But with each addition or change, use the same two steps and evolve your process accordingly. Some goals will be more straightforward. Other goals may be in an ever-changing arena like social media, where we will always be adapting to new changes. Life changes may also require you to adjust your process to accommodate your new opportunities or limitations.

Stay tuned for part 3, where we put it all together to trust the process.

--

--

Michaela Brielle

Professional copywriter, blogger, content planner. Here to share lessons I’m learning in running a business and self-development.